Library books

Immediately after the library class, I used my print out of the search results as a guide and went to browse through the stacks.  I checked out two books; one that would inform me on the general case of global warming and one that specifically related to my focus of sustainability. 

The book about global warming is called “Climate in Crisis” by Albert K. Bates.  I chose the book because it is short, but gets right to the point and doesn’t exclude any crucial details.  As I skimmed through the book, it seems like it discusses global warming on many different perspectives and theories – those I had never considered before.  Reading this book will help me discover scientific, psychological, and social reasons behind global warming.  I will do my best to incorporate these reasons and theories into my research paper.  I believe this book is realiable enough to be a valid source for my paper and I look forward to reading it. 

The other book was more narrow to my focus.  It is called “Technology, Humans, and Society: Towards a Sustainable World” by Richard C. Dorf.  When examining this book, all I had to do was look at the table of contents to know that this book is exactly what I am looking for in my research.  The book includes chapters on sustainability in business, science and technology, government, information about renewable and natural resources, and social elements of sustainability.  I chose this book because it will provide everything I need to know about my focus and more.  I plan to use information in every chapter and relate them all to my main argument.  There are endless options and things for me to write about with the help of this book.  This book looks like it is very reliable because there are several visual aides and graphs; and furthermore, they all cite their sources.

March 7, 2010. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. awessels replied:

    i think with your comment on the first book, you nail exactly what makes books in some ways difficult to use for research: they are often NOT to the point and have an excess of information. though you shouldn’t avoid big books, because they are often very good, at the same time you should also consider what you need for the project. and for an 8-10 page paper that isn’t designed to be groundbreaking or comprehensive….more to the point can be more efficient and useful.

Leave a comment

Trackback URI